Punk Rock, Baby

May 10, 2008 at 7:53 pm 4 comments

I think I have mentioned before that my husband Mike is a fabulous guitar player. His current band, The Big Guns, are playing as we speak at a cool club near downtown Dallas called Lee Harvey’s. I was more in the work mode rather than the play mode and decided to stay home. I have been busy in my studio for almost the entire day working on a Plushteam group project I will share with you when complete. When I’m done with this little break, it is back to the studio to finish my creation. If you have checked the Big Guns link, you know that they are an instrumental band. Really great instrumental band. Yes, I’m biased. So go to their MySpace page here and listen to their music and decide for yourself.

So what does this have to do with punk rock, you ask? When Mike and I first met in Houston many, many years ago, he was in a punk rock band, the Nervebreakers. I laughed when he told me. He didn’t look like any punk rockers I had ever seen. He looked normal. I went to a club and experienced the Nervebreakers for myself. Punk rock, baby. He still looked normal to me, but the rest of the band….

The Nervebreakers released records, toured and had quite the reputation here in Texas. They even had the opening act gigs for big time rock “stars” including The Police, Ramones, Clash and The Sex Pistols. This was the seventies, mind you. Things were different then. Music came on vinyl and there were lots of radio stations that weren’t owned by Clear Channel.

The other day he decided to join me in Flickr fun and upload the pictures from his punk rock days and earlier. The local free paper has already noticed and posted about Mike’s pictures Friday. The writer called it “Haskins’ recently uploaded memories”. You may view them as well, just click here. Enjoy.

Entry filed under: Dallas, Mike, music. Tags: , , , , .

Maid Of Clay Wild Thing

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carmina  |  May 12, 2008 at 7:23 am

    Thanks for sharing Patti by the way your post reminded me too ask you if you have already seen the documentary “Big At Heart”? You have to check it out, senior citizens singing songs from the Ramones, the Class, etc, very funny.

    Reply
  • 2. Donna  |  May 12, 2008 at 8:43 am

    Wow, those were the days. I know you guys had fun, fun, FUN! As did I. Wish I’d known you guys then. Rock on baby.

    Reply
  • 3. phaskins  |  May 16, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    You two keep rockin’, your own bad selves!

    Reply
  • 4. Mexican Lacquer « patti haskins  |  January 18, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    […] of the coolest pieces that I had my eye on actually came home with me thanks to my fabulous husband Mike. I loved the shape and colors of this trunk and it caught my eye every time I visited Casa […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive