Wild Thing

May 15, 2008 at 8:30 pm Leave a comment

The Etsy Plush Street Team blog is featuring members’ posts detailing the plush that they each created for the Storybook & Fairytale Project/Challenge. I am a member of that team and have been working away on my contribution every spare moment that I could find. Clean house? Forget it. I have been getting home from the 40 hour at the dental college, sucking down dinner, say hi to the husband (if he’s home) and the critters and then disappearing into my studio. The team participants were paired up and our challenge was to create a character from our partner’s favorite storybook/fairytale. So what follows is an edited version of the post from the Plush Team blog along with a bit of info from my Etsy shop listing:

My plush partner in fairytales was was BeBe Babies and Friends and her choice of stories was Where The Wild Things Are. Lucky me. I love that book, mostly I love Maurice Sendak’s drawings and his sense of humor.

I made Moishe by crocheting several different types of yarn into my version of Sendak’s monster. And such a cute monster he is. I really enjoyed trying to capture Moishe’s character in yarn. I reached deep into my stash to find suitable yarns and have a mixture of acrylic and wool with felt and fabric features. The yarn used for the stripes is vintage wool for needlepoint according to the aging wrapper. The rest is good old acrylic. A mixture of yarns just like this mixture of monster/beast.

The bushy hair and beard are individual strands of black acrylic yarn, hand cut, tied and knotted, one by one, around the loops of the crocheted head to get that wild hair-do. Time consuming yes, but so worth it, don’t you think?

Did you know that there is new film version of Where The Wild Things Are in the works? Spike Jonez is directing a screenplay he co-wrote with Dave Eggers. Click here to read all about it.

As always, click on the pics to see bigger versions.

Moishe bowing to Max, the king of all wild things.

And when he came to the place where the wild things are

they roared their terrible roars and gnashed their terrible teeth

and rolled their terrible eyes and showed their terrible claws

till Max said “BE STILL!”

Entry filed under: crafts, crochet, etsy, film, plush, plush team, softies. Tags: , , , .

Punk Rock, Baby Yarn Scraps

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive


