For The Birds

May 17, 2012 at 12:16 pm Leave a comment

Our rescued falcon

This time last year, my friends Carmina and Jeff that work here at the dental college in the I.T. department, found a nest of kestrel falcons up in the ceiling above their work area. Our building maintenance guys were thwarted in their efforts to get an exterminator to get rid of them when they discovered that the falcons were endangered, protected wildlife. My friends contacted Kathy Rogers, the wonderful woman who runs Rogers Wildlife Rehabilitation Center in the Dallas area. She came to the college and rescued a couple of the falcons and my friend caught the rest and brought them to the center, total of five falcon babies rescued from the ceiling. Pretty exciting stuff for us here at the college.

Yesterday, another falcon was discovered in the same area. Building maintenance guys supposedly closed up all the gaps and potential entrances last year, but obviously they were outsmarted by the bird brains. So, after work, Mike & I accompanied my friends to Rogers Wildlife Rehabilitation Center to turn the rescued little falcon over to their caring hands.

Carmina and Jeff had told me last year what a cool place Rogers was. I had read about their work with rescued birds before, but I had no real idea of the extent of birds on the grounds in various cages/pens and out walking about. I now know why Carmina and Jeff were so enthusiastic about their visits to the center, Rogers Wildlife Rehabilitation Center is the coolest place I’ve been to in quite some time. It’s like a bird zoo/hospital and if you live in the DFW area, they always need volunteers and donations. Check it out. All my photos here are from yesterday’s visit.

Entry filed under: birds, Dallas, Mike.

Newest Crocheted Critters Ernesto Neto

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


