Another Sad Goodbye

February 23, 2011 at 9:36 pm 2 comments

Ben

When you live with as many various aged animals as we do, goodbyes occur too often. Today, we had to say goodbye to the feral cat that has lived in our house for the last ten years, Veronica. We brought her, her sister, her mother and her father into our house when we lived on a busy corner and noticed that this little clan of grey-ish tabby cats were way too casual about crossing the streets. Plus, our little dog at the time loved them.

Betty

So in they came. But the two young girls were very skittish and wouldn’t let us touch them. It took a lot of trickery to get them to the clinic for spaying, testing, vaccinating and eventual house arrest. Our cats are all indoors only. Once in the comforts of our house, we figured they’d lose their feral ways as previous rescued cats have done. We named the young girls Betty & Veronica. Yes, like the Archie comics you old schoolers may recall. Dad we called Ben for his Bengal tiger-like markings and Mom we called Mom. Mom unfortunately died too soon, just a few years after coming indoors.

Ben loves being indoors. Betty & Veronica, not so much. Betty started to mellow and allow us to pet her about five years ago. For the last year or so, she even climbs up onto our laps to be petted. But don’t try to pick her up. Veronica, she never lost touch with her feral self. She was impossible to pet. We could barely touch her. Most visitors to our house never saw her. Mike and I are the only humans that will know she is gone and will miss her. The other cats may wonder where she is but then they’ll soon forget about her. At least that’s how it always appears to me.

So now we’re back to having six indoor cats and two dogs. Bye Veronica, I would have loved to have gotten to pet you and hug you and shower you with love if only you would have let me. But I’m still gonna miss you anyways.

Veronica

Entry filed under: cat, critters, Dallas.

Mother Nature’s Valentine Wisteria

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mike Haskins  |  February 24, 2011 at 12:00 am

    Veronica was a real cutie. I always looked forward to the day when she would be tame enough to be petted and held. After 10+ years of trying, I guess I won’t get the chance.
    I remember when we moved 8 years ago, I chased her for two days around our empty house before she finally gave in to her curiosity and climbed into an empty box. I quickly closed the box and moved her to our new address.

    Reply
  • 2. Jeff Lowry  |  February 24, 2011 at 8:35 am

    I got to see her once. After I had fed them I went and sat in the living room where I could see down the hall. Both her and Betty eventually sauntered across the hall to the kitchen to get their wet food.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


