Printmakers

June 23, 2010 at 9:18 pm 3 comments

Friday night we viewed a new exhibition at The Dallas Museum of Art entitled: José Guadalupe Posada: The Birth of Mexican Modernism. Posada was a printmaker whose work is now very popular, but sadly, like way too many artists, he died a pauper. The show was very engaging, many images like the one shown here. Lots of skeletons. I loved it. Besides prints, there were original printing plates displayed as well. Examining the plates reminded me once again of how much work went into creating these prints. Having seen these illustrations reproduced on many items over the years, I forgot how time consuming and difficult it is to carve a reverse image that prints so clearly and with such detail.

So I went searching on Etsy today in quest of modern printmakers of skill and vision. But I narrowed my search to prints of my favorite subjects, cats and dogs. I found four artists that really caught my eye. Click on the photos and you will be taken to their shop. Let me know if you like what you see when you get there. Enjoy.

Carl Harris

Viza Arlington

Annie Fitt

Serendipity Artist

Entry filed under: art, cat, Dallas, dog, etsy.

Crocheted Pup Trio Crochet Kitty Throw

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aine Scannell  |  June 24, 2010 at 4:11 am

    i thought my friend Angela Heidemann who is on Etsy would be amongst your selection.
    However I just checked on there and there is nothing in her shop.
    Here’s her link anyway to her website/blog
    http://www.angelaheidemann.co.uk/

    Reply
  • 2. Aine Scannell  |  June 24, 2010 at 4:17 am

    Just checked Carl Harris’s prints aka CatBoy….a couple of those with cats in particular are wonderful !!!

    Reply
    • 3. phaskins  |  June 26, 2010 at 7:25 pm

      Your friend Angela’s work is wonderful. Thanks for stopping by and leaving her link. And thanks for reading my blog.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive

patti haskins critter central


