Goodbye and Hello

January 10, 2010 at 3:11 pm 4 comments

We recently convinced a big orange tabby male feral cat that he really didn’t want to live outdoors anymore. After the vet assured us that he was disease free and healthy, we brought him into our house of six cats and two dogs. So far, so good. No bloody fights, just some complaints from the other cats. Now Ozzie, the formerly feral cat, just doesn’t like dogs and is determined to beat them up. He’s a big cat, but I don’t think he could take them. But the dogs are keeping their distance, just in case. When Ozzie takes a swat at Mickey, the dog he goes after mostly, Mickey reminds him that he can bark loud and has bigger teeth. They then go there separate ways.

Two weeks into this new seven cat arrangement, our most senior cat, June, passed on. She had been ailing, but hanging in there. She was 18 years old, almost 19. We miss her. She died in Mike’s arms. We’re grateful that she went on her terms and not through the dreaded last vet visit.

So we’re still a six cat, two dog family.
Goodbye June. Hello Ozzie.

Entry filed under: cat, critters, dog, Mike.

Chicks Pink

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lulu Murphy  |  January 12, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Pitter, Now that I put the tissue away and can actually see to type, I wanted to say how sad I am about June. Ozzie is very lucky to have stayed into your yard. I didn’t know you got another dog !! Please tell me all about him/her !!

    XOXOXO love you XOXOXOO

    Reply
  • 2. macati  |  January 13, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    my lovely crazy dog named jhazz, passed away on saturday… cried so much… she was part of my family… it’s so sad that they pass away…

    Reply
    • 3. phaskins  |  January 13, 2010 at 10:17 pm

      Oh Macati, I’m so sorry. Another friend’s cat passed the same day as ours. It seems to be the season of endings for our furry friends. I’m sending hugs your way.
      Patti

      Reply
  • 4. megan foulke  |  February 4, 2010 at 12:53 am

    i hope the feral cat we feed will come live inside someday. at least he lets me pet him now. this post gives me hope that someday maybe he will.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


