Lead Vocals

August 15, 2009 at 11:38 am 3 comments

2284096633_4f269ea10f_mOnce upon a time, many years ago, I used to sing in a band. Both here in Dallas and in Raleigh, NC. Mike played lead guitar and I was the vocalist and many other members came and went. We were called, at different times, The Leopard Society, The Miss Patti Band and The Big Gundown. The Big Gundown was the most recent incarnation and that was over ten years ago.

About half of our material was instrumental, focusing on Mike’s fabulous guitar playing. Along the way, I grew weary of singing in bars. When yet another bass player left and we were about to embark upon finding his replacement, I suggested that the band become instrumental, no singer, no me. And I offered their name, The Big Guns. The rest is history. The Big Guns have been rocking ever since.

There is a reason I am dredging up all this ancient history. An upcoming  reunion event is resuscitating one of Mike’s old punk bands, Bag O’ Wire. The lead vocalist for that band now lives in Nashville and will only be able to get here the day before the gig to rehearse. The other guys live here and want to rehearse more than once. Do you see where I’m going with this? I’m the fill in, the substitute, the temporary lead singer.

So singing with a band again took me down memory lane and I dug up a couple of mp3s of The Big Gundown for you to download. One’s an original tune by Mike and me and the other is a cover. Enjoy.

To The Last Drop of Blood

Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood

photo credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/jf-sebastian/ / CC BY-NC-SA 2.0
Entry filed under: Mike, music. Tags: , , .

Plushstock Plushstock 2009 – Vote It Up!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carmina  |  August 17, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    OK I need to be present for this “substitution” lead singer thing.

    Reply
  • 2. JANN  |  November 18, 2009 at 2:52 am

    whatever happened to RALPH of the RALPH’S group??
    I went to the HOT KLUB during this time also.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


