More Mexican Folk Art

August 4, 2009 at 7:13 pm 3 comments

full width huichol painting copyA few weeks ago, Mike and I wandered into a local resale/antique mini-mall type store to peruse a friend’s booth of records, cds, etc. Right next to his booth, I spied a multi-colored intriguing large wood panel with what looked to be yarn comprising the imagery. Like my Huichol yarn painting.

detail birdSo of course I got a little closer to the panel, I actually got real close to the panel to inspect what was indeed a Huichol yarn painting on plywood.

A large panel, it measures 49″ wide by 24″ tall. If you’ve read my blog before, you know I have a thing for Huichol art so you already know that I snapped that painting right up.

I love the imagery, it’s as if the small figures from the yarn painting that I already have have been enlarged onto this painting. I haven’t hung it in the house yet, right now it just sits on an easel in my studio for inspiration.
Enjoy.
detail face

Entry filed under: art, Dallas, huichol, Mexican folk art.

Dragonflies Plushstock

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Majbrit Clarke  |  November 5, 2009 at 5:52 am

    I read your blog and I found myself in a similiar situation. I was out thrift shopping when I cam across a large picture sitting on the floor, I loved the colors and brought it home and started doin research on the yarn painting. I know nothing about this and on the back was writting from the artis and he told the story of the picture. It is writtn in Spanish so I really cant read it. I believe it was make in Noyarit Mixico and on the front has the writting of S.M.C do you know how I can get any info on the artist? or maybe you might know of him. I believe the first name might start with an M..I would really appreciate an info you could spare. ThankYou so much..Majbrit Clarke

    Reply
  • 3. craigjem  |  October 12, 2010 at 12:11 am

    Thanks for stopping by to look at my students’ yarn paintings. Huichol yarn paintings are a lot of work, but absolutely fascinating!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive

patti haskins critter central


