Scribbled Crochet

July 8, 2009 at 9:41 pm 3 comments

side headI have been carrying around this idea in my head for months, I wanted to make crocheted critters that look like they had been scribbled upon. Random, meandering swirls and twists and spirals. Doodle type designs.

After thinking about it for way too long, I finally embarked on creating a dark blue textured yarn cat. I crocheted, stuffed and sewed her up to point where I usually add the facial features. Instead, I crocheted a couple of very long chains with a contrasting color, burnt orange, cotton yarn. I then straight pinned the chains in a scribbled design. When I was satisfied with my scribbling, I hand sewed the chain to the kitty.

leaning

I continued using the yarn to craft the facial features and decided since the spirals on the face were so large, I would skip the usual big mouth I’m so fond of and leave her mouthless. I liked her when I was done so much that I created a maroon and multi jewel tone scribbled cat and a grey dog with apricot scribbles.

three quarter front

I may continue along this path and make more scribbled critters. It is a very tedious process to pin the design and then hand sew it, but I think the end result is worth the effort. I’m interested in hearing your opinions. If you get a chance, leave me a comment. If you really, really like these and want to have one for your very own, they are available in my Etsy shop. Thanks for reading this far. I appreciate it.

If you really, really like these and want to have one for your very own, they are available in my Etsy shop.
Entry filed under: cat, crafts, critters, crochet, dog, etsy, plush, softies.

Fans Critter Central

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diana Graff aka PooToo  |  July 8, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    i saw the rest of the photos on Etsy and I must say he is pretty funky! I love the color scheme, any child would be automatically attracted to it like a magnet 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Cecilia  |  July 9, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    These are great. The graffiti idea works so well with the nosy kitty and playful puppy motifs. It might be cute to “tag” them with a word or their names.

    Just a thought – have you considered drawing the pattern on with chalk and then surface crocheting the designs? I find slip-stitching along the surface to be a lot less tedious than the hand sewing.

    Reply
  • 3. Nice Crochet photos | Knitting For Beginners  |  July 2, 2013 at 10:52 am

    […] Gary Image by patti haskins Crocheted dog with chain stitch scribble design. The chain was hand stitched onto the completed dog, along with the face features. more: pattihaskins.wordpress.com/2009/07/08/scribbled-crochet/ […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


