Mirror Crusted Crocheted Fish

May 30, 2009 at 8:33 pm 2 comments

I love being a member of the Etsy Plush Street Team. We have the coolest projects and challenges. Here’s my contribution to the latest. I’ve copied the text from my Etsy listing, it pretty much says it all.

crochet mirror fish 01

“The Etsy Plush Street Team is one creative bunch of artists and our May/June challenge is in honor of Food Network’s Iron Chef program, hence the name Iron Plush. We were arranged into teams. Each team was assigned an “ingredient” and we were challenged to create a food item using that ingredient and present our creation plated. I am on team mirrors.

I decided to crochet a fish of multi strands and crust his topside with mirrors and sequins and glass beads. He is very shiny. I also sewed a little ring on the back so he could hang on the wall.

The fish was crocheted using three different acrylic chenille yarns. The mirrors are plastic and are held on by crocheted rings. The sequins are vintage and the glass beads are new-ish. The tail fins are embroidered with vintage thread my Polish grandmother gave me many years ago.”

Hungry?

Entry filed under: crochet, etsy, plush, plush team, softies.

Pomegranates & Passionflowers Book of Critters

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diana aka Pootoo  |  May 31, 2009 at 6:51 am

    You did a great job on your part of the project, this little fish is sweet, love the blue hues you used on him.. πŸ˜‰ I love your blog by the way, and I also love that you rescue animals, I think that attracts me to your blog as much as your crochet art πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 2. phaskins  |  May 31, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    Thanks so much Diana,
    I really appreciate it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive

patti haskins critter central


