Creative Commons & Me

May 12, 2009 at 8:50 pm 1 comment

I was reading something the other day, well, I’m always reading something. I confess, I am a readaholic. Anyways, as I was saying, I was reading about why some artists and photographers feel they must have restrictive copyrights on their images. I found it interesting, but I don’t find myself agreeing with them.

Attribution Share AlikeI believe in the Creative Commons form of licensing:
“.. increasing the amount of creativity (cultural, educational, and scientific content) in “the commons” — the body of work that is available to the public for free and legal sharing, use, repurposing, and remixing. ” I use the Attribution Share Alike license which say “This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work even for commercial reasons, as long as they credit you and license their new creations under the identical terms. This license is often compared to open source software licenses. All new works based on yours will carry the same license, so any derivatives will also allow commercial use.”

Because I allow sharing of my photos, I have found my images used for editorial illustration all over the web. I always receive credit for my image and often the site provides a link to my Flickr photostream. I think its fun to find your work utilized in unexpected ways. Here’s some of my favorite usages so far. Enjoy.

earthskyI love this radio show and listen to it often on my local NPR station.
I was thrilled to have them use my dragonfly photo.

ehow

My ornamental tile painting serves a different use than I ever imagined.

chattahboxRobot lawnmower and crocheted dog. Who would have ever thought?

beaufortonian

begreenminded

hubpagesMy photo of the turkey softie I created sure is popular around Thanksgiving.

hibiscusJust lovely to see my photo of my hibiscus on a plant site.

Entry filed under: art. Tags: , .

Youngstown Vote For Rose

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. soulkyrie  |  May 12, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    Creative Commons is a great idea. I like the turkey lol. Nice post btw i enjoyed reading it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive


