Stumbling Upon Papier Maché

September 25, 2008 at 9:29 pm 2 comments

Well, I guess everyone knows by now that the rain came in record amounts to Chicago and Ike slapped Texas silly. We here in East Dallas received only a hint of Ike’s raging winds and rain, just enough to make us glad we don’t live in Galveston or Houston. Galveston will never be the same…. And the Texas seafood industry will take years to recover, no more affordable Texas shrimp and oysters.

But let’s change the subject, shall we? Paper Maché. Or Papier Maché if you’re French speaking. I used to spend a lot of time sticky with paste, creating various objects with newspaper and paste. I made a series of cat heads, brightly painted, of course, that hangs in my kitchen over the sink. A friend in NY asked if she could purchase a couple and I took them all down to photograph them for her to choose which cat heads she wanted. So that got me thinking about Papier Maché again.

So I stumbled upon a few artists working in Papier Maché that I think are just fabulous. These cool cats are from Liat Binyamini Ariel. I love the colors and shapes of her kitties.

Nancy Winn‘s animals are created with such personality. I really enjoy this piece, it’s entitled “Dog Paddle”. Such fun.

Dédé au Château has a style that is unique and very appealing. Her creations are quite engaging. Quirky, amusing and most wonderful. Don’t you just adore this dog? She has titled this “The Little King”. Fabulous. Such great ears.

And I’ll leave you with a photo of one of my cat heads. If you click here, you’ll see more of my Papier Maché works.

Enjoy.

Entry filed under: art, cat, crafts, dog.

Weekend Outings Halloween

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jake  |  May 21, 2013 at 3:03 am

    need more pics

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive


