Fuzzy Crocheted Cat

June 28, 2008 at 9:52 pm 8 comments

The Etsy Plush Steet Team, of which I am a member, challenged us to create our version of our favorite childhood toy/plush and then to post about it on the team blog. Here’s what I created and what I posted:

I wish I had pictures of myself and my favorite plush. I love Yummy Pancake‘s picture of her and her Easy-Bake Oven almost as much as I love her crocheted version. Truly impressive work.

My favorite plush from when I was young was a crocheted cat that my Grandma Benton made for me. She crocheted a cat for each of my three sisters as well. Not to mention all the afghans, vests, scarves, tablecloths, bedspreads….my grandma was never without a hook in her hand and yarn whizzing by on its way to become some new creation. All I can remember about my cat that she made was that it was fuzzy, white, and had rhinestone eyes. Oh how I wish that I still had that kitty.

My interpretation of that remembered cat is fuzzy as well, but I opted for bright color instead of sedate white and gave my kitty the felt big mouth face that I give almost every cat that I make.

The picture of my grandma, without hook in hand, is from an afternoon entertaining her great grand-daughter as only Grandma could. This picture pretty much depicts her personality. She taught me how to crochet, embroider, say butt in Polish (dupa), how to remove my bra without taking off my shirt while rocking on her front porch and the answer to too many why’s: “Are you writing a book? Why don’t you leave out that part and make it a mystery?”

I miss her, she was one of a kind. I guess I’m trying, in my own way, to continue her crocheting cats tradition.

Entry filed under: cat, crafts, crochet, etsy, plush, plush team, softies.

Indie Fixx – Spruce Up Your Place Sassy Cat

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Judy  |  June 28, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    The cat is adorable, but I love, love, love your grandmother. I wonder if she would adopt me?

    Reply
  • 2. Carmina  |  June 29, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    What a lovely story.

    Reply
  • 3. Lulu Murphy  |  June 30, 2008 at 8:32 am

    I absolutely loved reading this and seeing Grandma’s
    “funny face” picture. Boy do I miss her, and you too !!
    I love your bright kitty that you made, it is adorable!!
    Thank you for the trip down memory lane…..it was a great
    way to start my day.

    love you !!! xoxoxo

    Reply
  • 4. macati  |  July 1, 2008 at 3:35 am

    lovely text about your grandma… and lovely picture…

    Reply
  • 5. mom2fur  |  July 3, 2008 at 10:14 am

    Your grandma was awesome! My Polish word taught me the word “dupa,” which is fun to say ’cause no one knows what it means!

    Reply
  • 6. phaskins  |  July 10, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    Thanks all. Grandma Benton was definitely one of a kind, wouldn’t you say so Lulu? Glad you all enjoyed my little story.

    Reply
  • 7. sher  |  January 1, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    I would like the pattern for the cute blue cat. How do I get It?
    Thanx, sher

    Reply
  • 8. phaskins  |  January 1, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    sorry sher, I don’t have a pattern. I make it up as I go along.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


