Yarn Scraps

May 18, 2008 at 7:53 pm 2 comments

While cleaning my studio this afternoon and bagging lots of little pieces of yarn, I wondered why was I saving all these little scraps of yarn. Waste not, I guess is my reasoning. I figured that eventually I’d find a good use for these scraps and be glad I didn’t throw it all away.

I was planning on scanning another project from The Encyclopedia of Crafts today after clearing a layer of stuff out of the studio. I approached this as I always do, go the shelf in the studio where the complete set of books are and picking a volume randomly. I never cease to be amazed at what I find in the pages of 1970’s era craft projects. And wouldn’t you know it, the volume I chose, #3, had a project for what to do with yarn scraps. I may try this. I have plenty of scraps and a bunch of clothesline type cording leftover from making scrap fabric bowls. I’m sure you’ve seen these: fabric bowls.

There are probably a million people already creating yarn necklaces and I’m the last to discover this method of scrap yarn usage. I was thinking of making little shaped stuffed pillows, brooch sized, and combining the shaped pillows with the yarn necklace. Great, another project for my list of “one of these days I’m gonna…..”

Anyone out there reading this have experience making belts or necklaces using their yarn scraps? Do tell.

(click the picture and you can download a PDF of the page)

Entry filed under: crafts, encyclopedia of crafts. Tags: .

Wild Thing Press Clip

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sara  |  July 15, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    Do you have any more projects that use scrap yarn?

    Reply
  • 2. phaskins  |  September 24, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Sorry I’m just now replying to your comment, but I really have no other projects for scrap yarn.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive


