Mexican Folk Art

April 29, 2008 at 8:56 pm 8 comments

A few weeks ago I started a new occasional series detailing some of the Mexican folk art that I love and live with. My own little gallery of sorts. This is another in that series. Today’s piece is one of my absolute favorites, a Huichol beaded jaguar head that my wonderful husband gave to me many Christmases ago. He purchased this find at our favorite store of incredible Mexican art, a real sensory overload shopping experience, Casa Mexicana in Dallas, Texas. Here are some of the beaded Huichol art they have featured now on their web site.

There are also a lot of resources on line with many images of Huichol beaded art. Here’s a few for you to peruse: Zia Traders, La Fuente Imports, and Peyote People.

I can’t ever imagine having the patience to apply all these teeny, tiny beads to the soft beeswax. But I sure do love looking at all the wild colors next to each other in the mind boggling designs. Click on the pics to see bigger versions where you can almost count the beads.

Wonder if the peyote has anything to do with the Huichol’s intense creativity? Mmm……..

Enjoy.

Entry filed under: art, Dallas, Mexican folk art. Tags: , , , .

1970’s Cat & Dog Softies Maid Of Clay

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. macati  |  April 30, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    wow this is amazing….

    Reply
  • 2. phaskins  |  May 1, 2008 at 7:27 am

    oh to be as talented as the Huichol people of Mexico….

    Reply
  • 3. moogan  |  May 5, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    wow, those are amazing.
    I could never sit for that long to create something that eleborate

    Reply
  • 4. phaskins  |  May 16, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    I think the peyote must help with the patience thing.

    Reply
  • 5. Mexican Folk Art « patti haskins  |  June 8, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    […] of the painting. I am intrigued once again by the process, just as I am by the Huichol beaded work I wrote of recently. I love the imagery. The colors are fabulous and speak to my love of all things bright […]

    Reply
  • 6. pjhornberger  |  July 31, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Thanks for mentioning they use bees wax. I didn’t have a clue. Very cool stuff. I collect folk art, mostly southern, or American. It’s a treat to live with what you love. Thanks for sharing! PJ

    Reply
  • 7. Mexican Folk Art | Robyn Tinch  |  May 13, 2013 at 7:20 am

    […] Mexican Folk Art. beaded art. […]

    Reply
  • 8. Marsha  |  November 1, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    Approximately how long did the featured piece take? Your work is absolutely beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive

patti haskins critter central


