Plush Fun

March 28, 2008 at 8:55 pm 7 comments

I was doing a little writing for the Plush Team blog and did a Google search to find where our Plush Team members were showing up and I found three quite unusual plush companies that I felt obliged to share with you. I think they are pretty cool. How about you, what are your thoughts on these plush creations of a different sort?

pimple.jpg GIANTmicrobes makes “stuffed animals that look like tiny microbes—only a million times actual size!” This is one of my favorites, it is a pimple! And isn’t it the cutest darn pimple you’ve ever seen?

“Now available: The Common Cold, The Flu, Sore Throat, Stomach Ache, Cough, Ear Ache, Bad Breath, Kissing Disease, Athlete’s Foot, Ulcer, Martian Life, Beer & Bread, Black Death, Ebola, Flesh Eating, Sleeping Sickness, Dust Mite, Bed Bug, and Bookworm (and in our Professional line: H.I.V. and Hepatitis).

Each 5-to-7 inch doll is accompanied by an image of the real microbe it represents, as well as information about the microbe.

They make great learning tools for parents and educators, as well as amusing gifts for anyone with a sense of humor!”

graviton.jpgThe Particle Zoo: Subatomic Particle Plush Toys from the standard model of physics.

According to the maker, Julie Peasley, this little cutie is a Graviton. “Still unobserved, yet theoretically everywhere.”

And from The Particle Zoo’s links page, I discovered another unique plush company: I Heart Guts. Just as the name implies, sweet looking, soft, huggable internal organs. plush-pancreas_med.jpgMy fave is the pancreas. I have been an insulin dependent, Type 1 diabetic since 1981. I would love a new pancreas, specially one as cute as this one. But only if it works, I don’t need another useless pancreas.

So check out these plushies and let me know which are your favorites.

Entry filed under: plush, plush team, softies.

Green Cat Springs

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donna  |  March 29, 2008 at 6:58 am

    I love stuff like that. The weird stuff is cute to me. Is anyone making any plush testes??? I have a collection from my vet someone can use as a reference…

    Reply
  • 2. coralie  |  March 30, 2008 at 12:16 am

    i haven’t seen plush testes, but i have seen a set of plush boobs. lol! 😀

    Reply
  • 3. macati  |  April 1, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    so cooooooool!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Ferret Mommio  |  April 1, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Those are so funny. I find that the the lyme disease guy is so cute. Some of the others are kind of scary, you definitely wouldn’t give something like that to a kid. There are some cute ones though. I even sent the link to the staph one to my sister-in-law. My nephew almost died from it and I thought it was appropriate to send to her.

    Reply
  • 5. phaskins  |  April 1, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    Glad you guys enjoy the plush. Donna, you are seriously twisted, and I mean that in good way, of course. And Ferret Mommio, I think having a plush of the disease that haunts you is a great idea. You can squeeze or throw the plush around when feeling down.

    Reply
  • 6. Dre  |  April 8, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    I love this trend in micro/bio plush. I have a current fascination with parasitic worms and tumors. Good stuff!

    Reply
  • 7. phaskins  |  April 12, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    glad you like it Dre!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive


