The Encyclopedia of Crafts

March 17, 2008 at 8:11 pm 9 comments

rug.jpgI have multiple projects in various stages of incomplete right now and rather than finalize any of them, I’m going to start a new series on my little blog here. The Encyclopedia of Craftscover.jpg is a 24 volume set of hardback books published in 1975 that has lots of cool 70s pictures and loads of craft project instructions. I scored the complete set in perfect condition at an estate sale last year and I find myself returning to page through for inspiration and amusement. Did I mention that I graduated from high school (I will now reveal just how old I am) in 1974. These pictures are so familiar to me, I remember many of these projects from magazines back then.

pillows.jpgI think I will post some of my favorite projects and whatever else strikes my fancy from this book. Today I present the beginner’s crochet project and learning to crochet instructions. This is for you, Donna, give it a try. Click here for a PDF.

I find it interesting that I think the rug looks very modern, very today. I love the colors. I’ve always wanted to make a rag rug and love this hot pink version. Another project to add to the “must do someday” list.

Click on the pics for bigger versions and don’t forget to download the PDF for a trip down memory lane for some and a historical peek at the past for the rest.

Entry filed under: crafts, crochet, encyclopedia of crafts. Tags: , , , .

Crocheted Dodecahedron Trapunto

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ferret Mommio  |  March 18, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    That rug is actually very nice! It reminds me of something that would be in my grandmother’s house when I was little, but it also looks like something I’d consider putting in my home. Looking forward to seeing more project pictures.

    Reply
  • 2. thekidneybean  |  March 19, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    That rug reminds me is a rug from my 25 yr old cousin’s. It’s all in greens and some of the stripes have machine-made lace wrapped around the fabric. Really pretty and I think she got it from Ikea (she’s a big fan).

    Reply
  • 3. Donna  |  March 20, 2008 at 7:23 am

    I love those craft books from the ’70s, yes indeedy. What a different world back then with bright colors AND earth tones, granny skirts and macrame. I’m a few years behind you graduating in ’79.

    Back in the ’70s when I discovered macrame, I made so many plant hangers, wonder where they all went??

    I’d love to see those books. Maybe I can find some somewhere. You scored!

    Reply
  • 4. Trapunto « patti haskins  |  March 20, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    […] couple of years ago I finally threw the pages away. Then I found that set of Encyclopedia of Crafts books and there was that outfit again. I still think its a really cool look. Maybe not so much the […]

    Reply
  • 5. Sock Elephant « patti haskins  |  April 25, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    […] 15, 2008 Time for another Encyclopedia of Crafts trip back to the seventies. Although this project looks like it could have been created today. […]

    Reply
  • 6. 1970’s Cat & Dog Softies « patti haskins  |  April 25, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    […] past, this is not a new idea. I found a very cute pattern for a stuffed felt cat and dog in The Encyclopedia of Crafts, that seventies craft book 24 volume series I have previously sited. Download the pdf pattern here. […]

    Reply
  • 7. Yarn Scraps « patti haskins  |  May 18, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    […] was planning on scanning another project from The Encyclopedia of Crafts today after clearing a layer of stuff out of the studio. I approached this as I always do, go the […]

    Reply
  • 8. Michael  |  November 13, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    I have 18 of these hard backs in excellent condition from 1975 and want to sell but don’t know how

    Reply
  • 9. Michael  |  November 13, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    contact me at 513 301 3452

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive


