Crocheted Dodecahedron

March 10, 2008 at 11:37 am 11 comments

celestine_crochet_d_lg.jpg
The newest issue of Berroco’s Knit Bits hit my email inbox and although you’ll find lots of instructions to crochet cute amigurumi critters in this issue, what really jumped up and celestine_crochet_lg.jpggrabbed me was this lovely crocheted dodecahedron. Too cool. Another project to add to the “must try this one day” list. Click on the photo above to be whisked to the instruction page.
Entry filed under: crochet.

Fuzzy Dog x 2 The Encyclopedia of Crafts

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. thekidneybean  |  March 10, 2008 at 11:47 am

    I already have this pattern in my queue! It is such a neat idea for self striping yarn. I want to buy a skein of sock yarn just to make this project!

    Reply
  • 2. Donna  |  March 11, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    I love this. A bowl of these sitting around would look cool, don’t cha think?

    Reply
  • 3. Ferret Mommio  |  March 11, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Donna pointed me to this and it has been added of my list of things to do as well. Fortunately for me, I add things to the top of my list ^.^ So far I’ve done 1 point and will start my next one shortly. I’ve started my own blog to share my crafts and animals, you can find me by clicking on my name (at least I think you can). ^.^

    Reply
  • 4. phaskins  |  March 11, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    thekidneybean and ferret mommio, I can’t wait to see your versions of this pattern, I must move it up on my list. And Donna, time to learn to crochet!

    Reply
  • 5. Ferret Mommio  |  March 12, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    I was going to wait to post another comment until after I finished the project, but I ran out of stuffing and so I’ll have to wait to finish up. But I thought I’d go ahead and post this because I wouldn’t want anyone to do this pattern and end up with a hole. The 11th point should actually be done as follows:

    11th point: With crochet hook, ch 7, work 7 sl sts along side of previous point and 7 sl sts along sides of next 3 points, join with a sl st to first ch to form a ring, being carful not to twist sts – 35 sc’s. Complete same as 2nd point.

    Stuff star after the 11th point and continue working from previous pattern instructions.

    Hope this helps. I’ll post another comment once I’m finished. I only have one point left to work.

    Reply
  • 6. phaskins  |  March 12, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    Hey Ferret Mommio,
    You should send email to Berroco and alert them to this correction. Hope you post a pic to your blog. Can’t wait to see it.

    Reply
  • 7. Ferret Mommio  |  March 12, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Okay. I’ve finished the project and added it to my blog. It’s larger than the pattern because of the yarn I used. And I did email Berroco about the correction. This was definitely an interesting item…probably not one that I will make again any time soon.

    Reply
  • 8. macati  |  March 13, 2008 at 11:13 am

    so beautiful! looooove!

    Reply
  • 9. Donna  |  March 13, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    I know, I do need to learn to crochet. So many cute things I could do. How do I learn?

    Reply
  • 10. macati  |  March 14, 2008 at 4:35 am

    hi donna!
    I bought this book and it teaches very well how to crochet and follow patterns…
    http://www.amazon.com/Stitch-Bitch-Crochet-Happy-Hooker/dp/0761139850
    hope I could help…

    Reply
  • 11. phaskins  |  March 16, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    thanks macati! there you go Donna, give it a try!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive


