Lion Brand Yarn

January 10, 2008 at 8:37 pm 4 comments

My mailman delivered the new Lion Brand Yarn catalog to my house today. Since I got home from work, I have been studying the glossy pages from front to back and then all over again. Unfortunately for me, Vanna White is on the cover and has a line of yarncircles.jpg with Lion. I just ignore her. Not a fan.

But there are some cool patterns to be had for free on their website and I thought I’d show you a few that peak my interest. Maybe even enough to download the pattern and think about making.

For instance, I really like the colors and pattern of this baby blanket. But I’d like to expand on the idea and make it adult size. Doesn’t the piece just make you yearn for spring?

coat.jpgAnd this coat has a cool look but white, never. And wool? Not much wool wearing opportunity here in Dallas. We’ve had maybe five whole days of winter type cold weather. But I envision this coat crocheted in a bright hot pink cotton. Or turquoise. Or both.

boondy_fluffedandbuffed.jpg But I do have a lot on my table, so to speak. A friend of Mike’s liked our holiday card and wants a crocheted version of his dog. Isn’t she cute? And my sister wants an orange striped crocheted cat for her birthday on January 24th. And I have a stuffed drawing of a cat just waiting for me to sew and stuff and send to Jane of Etsy Cat Crafts and Art. So I need to get off this computer and get busy, don’t I?

But let me leave you with this cool crochet square motif I found on that Lion website. Can you imagine a whole blanket checkered with dogs? You could make the dogs different colorsdogshead.jpg and have alternating squares a solid color to contrast nicely with your dogs. How fun would that be? (clicking on the pics will take you to the corresponding Lion page with pattern and clicking on the dog will get you a bigger version of her cuteness.)

Off to hook!

Entry filed under: crafts, crochet.

Fun With Velvet the needle

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. elaine  |  January 20, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    looking for beggining paterns and simple hook i saw for crochet on lion yearn web site

    Reply
  • 2. phaskins  |  January 24, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    Good luck with your crocheting endeavors.

    Reply
  • 3. Drawn to Sew « patti haskins  |  January 28, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    […] I call I get the machine. I’ll catch her one of these days. I have to crochet that cute dog I wrote about recently but before I started that project I felt like drawing on fabric again. Here’s […]

    Reply
  • 4. Fuzzy Dog « patti haskins  |  February 26, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    […] 26, 2008 Do you remember all the way back to January 10? I wrote about Lion Brand Yarn’s catalog and some other things including the fact that a friend of […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


