Maggie

December 4, 2007 at 8:24 pm 9 comments

belly-1.jpgThere’s a big hole in my heart today. My gorgeous, funny, cute, talented, loving dog Maggie died yesterday. It was not expected. Sherug.jpg wasn’t old. She wasn’t sick. It just happened. Mike worked out of the home office yesterday and had to leave for an appointment across town. He put the dogs outside, my orders, around 2PM. I came home from work at 5:30PM. I opened the side door to let the dogs in and the boys came right in and I looked out the door for Maggie and she was laying in the grass like she was sleeping. Very peaceful looking. But I knew something wasn’t right. She always runs in the house along with the boys. I ran outside to see if she needed help but it was too late. She was cold. And I haven’t been able to stop crying since. I wrote about her in August, here’s the link. Its hard to type through the tears. I’ll leave you with photos of Maggie through the years. Click the pics to see large views. Also posting some art I created with her image years ago. Pet your dogs and cats. You never know when it may be the last time.

maggie-ben.jpg

maggie.jpg painting.jpg belly-2.jpg furry-me.jpg doggie-style.jpg

Entry filed under: dog.

Knit Stamps Maggie Christmas

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Zuleika  |  December 5, 2007 at 2:58 am

    I am so sorry for your loss. It’s hard to lose a pet because they’re like a part of the family. I’ve had that experience when I was little. My dog was named Marmaduke like the comic strip. He was a huge great dane and also my best friend. He passed after complications from a fight with a pit bull that should’ve been tied up. I hope you’ll be okay soon. Best wishes to you all. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. macati  |  December 5, 2007 at 7:10 am

    I have no words for these moments and can just feel the same now that I remember all those I had and passed away too! cherish the good moments… at least she had a peaceful last sleep!
    a big hug to you Patti!

    Reply
  • 3. phaskins  |  December 5, 2007 at 8:33 am

    thank you very much ladies. I’m at work today and trying not to cry too much. my boss already made me cry with her kind sympathy card. I miss Maggie….

    Reply
  • 4. geckogrrl  |  December 5, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dog — it’s so hard to lose a pet. I’m keeping you in my thoughts.

    Reply
  • 5. Jim  |  December 6, 2007 at 4:51 am

    I honestly think that pets find us, not the other way around. That’s the way it has been with our two dogs and 1 remaining cat, and probably how it is with all of your many wonderful animals. Having lost several over the years, I truly feel your pain. I guess we just have to be thankful for the gift our pets have been over the years. Your artwork is a great return gift for her.

    Reply
  • 6. Carmina  |  December 7, 2007 at 1:17 pm

    I loved Maggie, sweet, sweet girl. I will give my guys a big hug and kiss for Maggie.

    Reply
  • 7. phaskins  |  December 8, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    thanks Geckogrrl, Jim and Carmina. I appreciate your words of sympathy.

    Reply
  • 8. Sara Marshall  |  December 13, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    I was so sad to hear about her passing, Patti. One of my fondest memories of her when I would come over to visit is when she and the boys would do the “3-way hump” display. That had me in stitches! She was, as you guys have always said, your Escaped Circus Dog, and she had the best life with the two of you. I lit a candle for her when I found out the sad news.

    Reply
  • 9. phaskins  |  December 13, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    thanks Sara.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


