Look!

October 26, 2007 at 5:53 pm 2 comments

I got a yearning to paint last Sunday so I whipped out this bright version of my flying dog. What do you think?

dog-painting-smll.jpg

 

 

If you love this painting as I do, it is available at my Etsy store. Its 9″x 12″, acrylic and ready to hang wherever a little, no make that a lot, of color is needed. I thought about painting the dog a more realistic color, but what fun would that be? Clicking on the image will take you to Etsy land.

And this week I practiced with the mesh tool again in Illustrator, but this time instead of teeth I decided to make a sofa, trying really hard to make it look soft. I think I succeeded. But I couldn’t stop there, could I? I had to create an entire digital collage starring one of my crocheted critters. Vanilla Fuzz was begging to be featured in one of my collages so I present to you Vanilla in her starring role, “Glued to TV”.

 

glued to tv

Again, clicking on the image will take you away, this time to Flickr so that you can click on all sizes and be able to see an enlargement of this cute collage. And what about that couch? Doesn’t it look soft. Many hours of trial and error with that gradient mesh tool in Illustrator went into that softness. This weekend I think I’ll be sewing, I have a couple of projects in the works. But I’ll probably visit the crochet hooks as well. Enjoy your weekend, Dallas finally has fall weather. How about where you are?

Don’t forget to go to the Plush Team blog and vote for your favorite Halloween plushies.

Entry filed under: art, cat, crochet, dog, etsy, illustrator, softies.

Handmade Calendars

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geckogrrl  |  October 27, 2007 at 11:21 am

    I love it! Blue works so well for a dog!) He’s really cute!

    I love the collages you do with your critters and illustrator — I can just imagine you putting together a book of your favorite patterns with your wonderful graphics and having an amigurumi hit!

    Reply
  • 2. phaskins  |  October 27, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    thanks geckogrrl! a couple of people have said I should create a children’s book. I like your idea too, but you know I really don’t have any patterns written out. I just wing it. Maybe I should started recording what I do when I wing it. And I have started offering prints of these creations on Etsy, no takers yet.:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


