Laurel Burch

September 27, 2007 at 8:53 pm 9 comments

burch11.jpg

Don’t you love this image? I do. Its one of Laurel Burch’s. Are you familiar with her work?burch12.jpg
I’ve loved her art since I bought a pair of her cloisonne earrings in 1981. They were cat earrings of course.

I have watched in admiration and amazement, and probably a littleburch15.jpg envy, as her images began to be found almost everywhere. Not just cats, but horses, dogs, birds, flowers and butterflies sprang from her imagination and came forth painted in bright, funky, fun colors.

Sadly, she died on September 13. Such a tale hers was. Cursed with a rare disease for practically her whole life, troubled early childhood, she managed to not only overcome all the strikes against her but to create an enormous successful art empire. Read the obituaries here from the New York Times and the San Francisco Chronicle. The images I have posted here come mostly from a free screensaver available on her website. Check out her website, you’ll be glad you did. And may she rest in peace.

20070917__web-18burchobit_300.jpg

burch5.jpg

Entry filed under: art.

More Crochet Cat Again Teeth

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. macati  |  September 28, 2007 at 2:51 am

    I have a notebook with her art… it’s amazing the way she plays with the colours…
    have a nice weekend!

    Reply
  • 2. Donna  |  September 28, 2007 at 6:15 am

    So sad that she’s gone now. I’ve enjoyed her art as well. Her use of colors is amazing and patterns too. I’m wishing I had a poster or something by her to gaze into at this moment. Thank goodness she graced us with beauty in our lifetime.

    Reply
  • 3. phaskins  |  September 29, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    yes, so sad she’s gone now. glad her work will be available to keep inspiring us. thanks for dropping by macati and donna.

    Reply
  • 4. geckogrrl  |  October 27, 2007 at 11:22 am

    I remember coming across her work about 13 years ago. I always loved not just her colors but also the way she paved for women designers/graphic artists.

    Reply
  • 5. phaskins  |  October 27, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    You’re right, geckogrrl, she really did pave the way for all of us women artists trying to market our creations. One can only dream of having half of her success and talent.

    Reply
  • 6. Michael Weckstein  |  April 16, 2010 at 1:42 am

    You are an amazing artist. I love the work! Keep inspiring others to do great things! I used one of your pics in a poem I wrote:

    The Superconscious

    The answers are all out there.
    We all found them.
    They are waiting for us.
    They are right there.
    They exist
    They are sitting there waiting for you to find them.
    You sit at your computer.
    You wait for the thought to come.
    “What will the question be?” you ask.
    How do I do this? How do I do that? How come? What for? Where is this from?
    From the who’s to the what’s to the where’s to the why’s to the how’s to the what for’s,
    The answers are at our fingertips. Who knew we could achieve, truth on a sreen.
    A book of endless resource powered by the human mind.
    The computer has done it. It is smarter than the human. It finally happened.
    The world is as we know it, a giant network of relative information,
    sprawling in a giant dust collecting snowball effect of a concept.
    Amazing, beautiful, magnificent, imperial, superhuman, WOW.
    WOW! Did you ever think that? WOW! I can’t believe this is true.
    WOW! Did you know, we know everything.
    We can practically do anything. So, when we sit at the computer, looking for facts,
    try your best to impact the world positively with all of that.
    “How do I save the rain forests?” you ask.
    We know that, we know that!
    “How can I always win a debate?” We know that! We do, we do.
    “What do I choose. What should I use?” We all know! We all know.
    “What should I do? What should I do?”
    and the search bar responds:
    It’s up to you.

    Reply
  • 7. Lyn Zalk  |  August 5, 2011 at 7:21 am

    I especially liked Laurel’s paintings of woman! Powerful images of sisterhood at its best!!!

    Reply
  • 8. Patti M.  |  July 4, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    Hello!
    I just found this website by searching “Laurel Burch”. WOW! I have seen her work, but never would have recognized it. (I’m more in to antiques, beading, etc.)
    I purchased a large lot of jewelry at an Estate Sale. In it was a watch by Laurel and the name is “Rainbow Cats”. I love it, but I don’t wear watches. It’s in excellent condition, so bright, and had a purple leather band.
    I don’t want to get rid of it, but I’m need to clean out my jewelry (so why was I buying more right?) LOL
    Can anyone give me an approximate value or at least tell me what to start it out on eBay?
    Thanks in advance!

    Reply
  • 9. Mayra León  |  January 21, 2013 at 3:18 pm

    ¡¡¡Me encanta!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive

patti haskins critter central


