Crochet Art

August 28, 2007 at 8:33 pm 6 comments

UPDATE: Xenobia Bailey has an Etsy shop with the coolest hats on earth. Imagine, owning your own Xenobia original. I’m gonna start saving my pennies. Link Plus, I found her blog! More coolness. Link

Lately, I’ve been swinging creatively between a fabric collage and a crocheted cat, but in theprofile2.jpg back of my mind I feel the tug of floorcloth painting. Since Monday is Labor Day here in the US of A and the dental college is closed, I decided to turn the three day weekend into a four day weekend and I am taking a vacation day on Friday.

So I just might complete all three projects, even though I have only thought about painting a floorcloth. I have paint and the canvas, I have painted floorcloths before. I would post a photo, but I painted the floorcloths back in the days of film and only have prints that have yet to be scanned.

So in the meantime, allow me to post some images of crochet work I can only aspire to: the art of Xenobia Bailey. I don’t think I’ve ever seen such cool crochet, I just love the approach, simple techniques but stellar $ Bopped - Flowcomposition and color. And scale, so large, so bold. I love the work I’veborrow_cosmictapl.jpg seen on Crochet Insider as well, very unique crochet artists featured there. But Ms. Bailey is still my favorite. If you click on these images you’ll either see an enlargement or get to read more about Ms. Bailey.

gallery_bailey.jpg

Entry filed under: art, crochet.

Dog Love Lazy Day

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donna  |  August 30, 2007 at 8:28 pm

    I think you’re right, it’s the simplicity of some of the patterns that really “pop”. Like Pop Art. Her work is amazing. Love the circles designs, that’s right up my alley. Wouldn’t those make some groovy throw pillows in a cool room?…or winter hats?…or…purses!!!!

    Reply
  • 2. phaskins  |  August 31, 2007 at 12:19 pm

    You must have purses mania!

    Reply
  • 3. Portraits in Yarn « patti haskins  |  July 28, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    […] on the subject of crochet artistry,  Xenobia Bailey, artist extraordinaire, has an Etsy shop with fabulous crown-like hats and a blog. Be sure to visit […]

    Reply
  • 4. Inspiration Filler Post « The Swan and Tomato  |  February 28, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    […] I want one!  This could be my secret grown-up hiding place tent! […]

    Reply
  • 5. Xenobia Bailey « patti haskins  |  February 22, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    […] few years ago I discovered the work of Xenobia Bailey and I posted about her and her fabulous work. Today, Etsy posted a short film of her talking about and showing her work. […]

    Reply
  • 6. web page  |  September 15, 2016 at 8:04 am

    Genuinely when someone doesn’t understand after that its up to other people that they will help, so here it occurs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


