Dog Love

August 25, 2007 at 10:35 pm 5 comments

It is Saturday night, Mike is at a gig that didn’t sound very fun for me, some double booking mess up at a place they’ve never played before. He mentioned metal bands and frat-boy funk band and I said I’d pass. So I’m home alone with the critters and just got tired of working in my studio so I thought it was time to tell you about another of my critters. Maggie says its her turn. I agree.

pearl.jpgOnce upon a time Mike and I were strictly cat people. We found a dog that changed our way of living and made us become cat and dog people. That was Pearl and her story will have to wait till later. She was an old dog when we found her and we were lucky to have her around for the five or so years that we did.

After her passing, we were thinking that we would be cat people again. We were wrong. We actually missed having a dog in the house. I know a few of our cats missed her a lot. We didn’t know that cats and dogs could get along so well together, having been strictly cat people.

So I began the search for another dog, a Westie hopefully since that was Pearl’s breed. I figured another Westie would fit into the cat house like Pearl did. But the Westie Rescue people didn’t have any available for adoption. So I checked on Petfinder constantly, trying to find a Westie. No luck.

Then I spotted Maggie. Not a Westie, but the cutest dog I’d ever seen. maggie-smiles2.jpgShe was at a shelter called Casa de Critters not far from us in Denton, TX. According to the Petfinder site, Maggie got along well with cats. So we went out to meet her and fell in love. The shelter had cats walking around and Maggie seemed to fit right in, no aggression towards the cats, she acted more like their big sister. We had a new dog. Where she came from, no one knows. She was found wandering the streets in Denton, her finder posted signs but no one claimed her and she ended up at the shelter. So the mystery remains as to why such a cute, well behaved, young adult dog was wandering the streets. Be sure to click her picture so you can see just how cute she is. And check this link, its Maggie’s page on the Casa de Critters site.

maggie

We brought her home and all the cats acted as though they had known her all along. It was as if she was Pearl in a new fur coat. One cat in particular, BW, loved Pearl a lot. BW was our outdoors only cat, he overnighted in our garage and had the yard during the day. We couldn’t bring him into the house since he had kitty aids and there’s no vaccine for it. So he lived outdoors. Maggie and he bonded. She and he hung in the yard together. It was quite the sight as you can tell from the pics I have posted here.

When we noticed that BW was “nursing” on Maggie, we asked the vet what was up with that. He said that he thought that they both found it comforting. Like Maggie was a big, fur covered pacifier for BW. He was starting to show the signs of the kitty aids, having mouth problems and drooling and Maggie would always clean him up. I miss old BW, the aids finally took him away.nursing bw I guess I’ll wrap this up now and go pet my critters. Till the next installment of Haskins critter tales, be sure to pet your critters.maggie and bw kiss

bw loves maggie

Entry filed under: critters, dog.

Lunch Time Crochet Art

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynda  |  August 30, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    Lovely story and photos and I read about Monty too-poor guy. They both lucked out with you…..wonderful success stories.
    Love Lynda-UK XX.

    Reply
  • 2. phaskins  |  August 30, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    thanks so much lynda, you must be a fellow dog lover. glad you enjoyed the photos and story.

    Reply
  • 3. Jen  |  September 30, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    Im a big time animal lover also, and I enjoyed reading your stories…I can relate to them because my family has always adopted street cats and as of 2 weeks ago a street dog as well. its never easy losing a furry loved one. 😦 They live in your hearts and in your memories forever. Never stop caring for them and adopting. You seem to be doing a great job. ❤ 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. phaskins  |  October 1, 2007 at 8:19 am

    thanks Jen. I appreciate your comments. Keep on petting!

    Reply
  • 5. Maggie « patti haskins  |  December 4, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    […] 2007 There’s a big hole in my heart today. My gorgeous, funny, cute, talented, loving dog Maggie died yesterday. It was not expected. She wasn’t old. She wasn’t sick. It just happened. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


