Baby Pineapple Update

August 22, 2007 at 11:47 am 2 comments

baby pineappleHe’s getting bigger and bigger by the day. Although it sounds sick, I can’t wait to eat him. The last baby this plant produced was the sweetest pineapple I’ve ever eaten. I guess those who live in or have visited Hawaii get to eat fresh pineapple all the time. It was a treat for me.

But while watering him the other day I spied something poking up between the fronds. I moved the fronds expecting to see some weed I’d have to yank and low and behold, a new pineapple plant was coming up. It is as if mom plant is tired of waiting for her son plant to get off of her so that she can grow a newbaby pineapple one. Now I don’t know whether to watch it and leave it in the pot with her or transplant to a new pot. I’ll have to research that online, where else?

baby pineapple

Entry filed under: pineapple, plant life.

New Crochet Cat In Town Lunch Time

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  August 29, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Hi patti…I have a HUGE pineapple plant that I also started from the top of a store-bought pineapple. The plant is at least 3 years old and it’s very nice and health-looking. It is indoors in our den where there’s lots of sunlight and warmth. Do you know how long it takes to hope for a baby pineapple to form? Does the plant have to be outside? I SO want it to have a baby!! Your plant pic looks like your plant is way smaller than mine….it should have been pregnant by now!! Any comments will be greatly appreciated! Thanks! Vicki

    Reply
    • 2. phaskins  |  August 30, 2009 at 8:10 pm

      Hi Vicki,
      I really don’t know much about growning pineapples other than here in Texas, it is hot so much of the year that my pineapples spend most of their time outside. Maybe that’s why I’ve had a couple of babies. This year, no babies. Who knows? I guess I haven’t been paying a lot of attention to my plants this year, I’ve been busy in my art studio, so maybe that’s why no babies. Good luck with your pineapples.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


