New Crochet Cat In Town

August 21, 2007 at 11:47 am 6 comments

voodoo-yarn.jpgI finished another crochet cat softie the other day, and this one has its eyes open and its mouth shut. Change of pace for me as is the yarn choice, I picked up this yarn because I wanted a challenge. This yarn is not cotton, it is acrylic. Click on the picture to see a scan of the yarn, or any of the pics to see them enlarged. This yarn is kind of fringed and not fringed.

So crocheting using this yarn was vanilla fuzzinteresting, I’d be going along on the straight part and all of a sudden the tufts appeared and the going got slow. I never used this kind of yarn before so it was a real learning experience. And the cat is fuzzy in spots and not in other places. Very cute, almost like he’s lost some of his fur. When I had finished stuffing and sewing him together, his little face just cried out for open eyes and no mouth, another change of pace for me.

I have named this fuzzy critter Vanilla Fuzz. Sort of a mix between that old band’s name, Vanilla Fudge, and that one hit wonder from Dallas, Vanilla Ice. I think he came out pretty cute. I will probably make the sacrifice and list him on Etsy tonight if I can pry my hands off of him and force them to type the details for the Etsy listing. Who wants to adopt this little fuzz face?

vanilla fuzz

vanilla fuzz

Entry filed under: cat, crafts, critters, crochet, etsy, softies.

More Stuffed Drawings Baby Pineapple Update

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. carlafibers  |  August 21, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    I LOVE your kitty! Did you just wing it? trial and Error? A Pattern? Do tell!

    I’ve had a “cat thing” going on my blog this week, too.

    Reply
  • 2. phaskins  |  August 21, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    thanks carlafibers, send me a link to your blog so I can check out your cat thing. I mostly wing it on these critters. many, many months ago I made a cat following this pattern from Nekoyama’s website but since then its improv all the way. glad you liked it.

    Reply
  • 3. Donna  |  August 22, 2007 at 9:05 am

    Adorable! That yarn does seem perfect to create “adoptable” critters. These critters need a home and loving care. I like the effect. Another cute Patti kitty!

    Reply
  • 4. Jen  |  August 22, 2007 at 11:10 am

    You did an amazing job!

    Reply
  • 5. phaskins  |  August 22, 2007 at 11:48 am

    why thanks Donna and Jen.

    Reply
  • 6. Ruby Two « patti haskins  |  September 12, 2007 at 8:08 pm

    […] have been using bright colored cotton yarn for every critter I have created up until Vanilla Fuzz. After finishing him using that funky yarn, I got the urge to try another different yarn and since […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive

patti haskins critter central


