Stuffed Drawings

August 6, 2007 at 7:50 pm 5 comments

In my true juggler fashion, I dropped the crochet hook and started drawing. But just to be contrary, I am drawing on fabric. I love black line on vibrant colored fabrics. And I didn’t want to just stretch the completed fabric drawing onto wood strips like small-flying-dog-westie-front.jpga painting. So I started cutting the drawings out, sewing and stuffing them, fashioning the drawings into small pillows. I wanted the pillows to hang on the wall or lay on the counter or table or shelf. I stitched little loops or eyes from hooks and eyes to the back, by my signature, so that these little guys could hang. What do you think? I love the way they look and have started on a series drawn on floral polished cotton that is colored in a washed out fifties kind of way. Like an old dishtowel. They are looking quite cool also. A little yin and yang, hot and cool colors.

small-plush-team-front.jpgThe whole inspiration for the batch of stuffed drawings was the “create your version of the Etsy Plush Street Team mascot P. T. Stitchy” challenge. I wanted to make something different, not appliqued orsmall-flying-shag-dog-side.jpg crocheted and I was in the mood to draw. So after I transferred nervousonion‘s great design and completed the stuffed P. T., I still felt the need to apply black line to fabric. I used a variety of permanent fabric markers to get the look I wanted. I didn’t want a painted appearance, I wanted it to be more sunk into the fibers, not floating on top.

I’ll probably post this hot group to Etsy tomorrow. Too tired tonight. Went to that
DFWPunksmall-laying-cat-side.jpg film last night and stayed up too late. The film was OK, not enough Nervebreakers in my opinion but plenty of obnoxious young people with nasty words and actions to guarantee equal opportunity offensiveness. I’ll get my fill of Nervebreakers Sunday night. They’ll be getting together at our house to make some righteous noise. Later…

small-flying-cat-side.jpg

Entry filed under: art, cat, crafts, dog, etsy, fabric art, softies.

Dreaming Dog Nap

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lifecreativitycoach  |  August 6, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    nice work. Keep creating.

    Terri

    Reply
  • 2. diamonds4pearls  |  August 6, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    *grins* Awesome. I really like the colors with the permant markers. I always use permant markers in my sewing projects. (usually as tailor’s chalk. but I’m definatly going to try this) Really compelling, and yet cute… I wonder, how would one keep the marker from washing off?

    After numerous clothes creations where it fades… i wonder.
    But i suppose these babies aren’t going to be in much traffic…

    Reply
  • 3. Mrs. Kwitty  |  August 7, 2007 at 2:08 pm

    So cute and colorful–I like how you’ve made them like they are running and having fun!
    Smiles, Karen

    Reply
  • 4. Donna  |  August 8, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    Adorable! I like the small laying cat side (that’s how it pops up). I want one!
    donna

    Reply
  • 5. phaskins  |  August 8, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    thanks all. hopefully these critters won’t need much laundering. and your encouragement means a lot. I really didn’t know if I was the only one that would like these. I have lots of drawings yet to stuff!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive


