Music, Films, and Cowboy Boots

August 1, 2007 at 1:33 pm 1 comment

My husband Mike is in two bands, the regularly performing The Big Guns and the sometimes recording Nervebreakers. Last night the Dallas Video Festival opened with the film Bodacious Boots. What does that have to do with Mike and his bands? Glad you asked.virginguadblack_lrg.jpg

The music of The Big Guns was featured throughout the Bodacious Boots film. The film is very cool, lots of interviews with boot makers and collectors. Lots and lots of gorgeous boots featured, including the pair I’m currently lusting after that I’ve posted here. They only cost $2100 so I don’t think they’ll ever be on my feet. I have four pairs of boots now, all cool and I love them very much, but not as much as I’d love the lady of guadalupe boots. Oh well. Watching the film once again made me appreciate what works of art cowboy boots are and how making boots is a dying American artform. And Mike’s guitar playing sounded awesome as the background to the scenes of these cool creations. The Big Guns played at a party after the film and they were great once again.

On Sunday night at the video fest, DFW Punk will be screened. The Nervebreakers were part of the scene and are to be featured in the film. We haven’t seen any of the footage yet, so we’ll all find out Sunday night. Mike has been in touch with the film’s creator over the years and we’re excited to finally get to see her film. I’ll be sure to provide a review next week.

Tonight we are going to check out Viva. It looks really fun. If you like that kind of thing and we do. Here’s the film’s website. Warning, this is adult material so if you are offended by that kind of stuff, don’t click! I find it pretty funny and look forward to tonight’s screening.

Entry filed under: cowboy boots, film, Mike, music.

Crocheted English Bulldog Softie Dreaming

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Bodacious Boots « patti haskins  |  October 23, 2007 at 5:35 pm

    […] 23, 2007 A few months ago I posted about going to the screening of a documentary on cowboy boots. My husband’s band The Big Guns […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive


