Crocheted English Bulldog Softie

July 29, 2007 at 7:52 pm 18 comments

standing1.jpgI received a challenge from an Etsy buyer back in June to crochet an English Bulldog. Squishy face and all. I never refuse an intriguing challenge. So, I did it. I crocheted her an English Bulldog softie. He will be going to her house to be hugged and petted. I thought I would share his photos with you. I made his nose from black ultrasuede with a little fiber-fil stuffing and his eyes are brown suede with black ultrasuede. He is one soft doggie. And so cute you just want to squish him. Sigh, I get a little carried away….

side1.jpg

laying1.jpgUPDATE: I re-used the first image to create this lovely print, click the pic and you’ll arrive at my shop for closer inspection. Enjoy!

Entry filed under: art, crafts, crochet, dog, softies.

Crayons Music, Films, and Cowboy Boots

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Deneen  |  July 30, 2007 at 8:53 am

    He’s adorable-you so rock with this stuff!

    Reply
  • 2. Jane LaFazio  |  July 30, 2007 at 11:25 am

    what a cutie pie! I hope you do more…cats! like him.

    Reply
  • 3. Donna  |  July 30, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    That is absolutely adorable Patti. I can almost feel the cuteness through the airwaves. Great job!!!

    Reply
  • 4. phaskins  |  July 30, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    Thanks Deneen, Jane and Donna. Nice of you guys to comment. And Jane, I feel a fuzzy crocheted cat will appear from my hands in the near future. But right now i’m working on non-crocheted stuffed flying cat and dog drawings. soon come.

    Reply
  • 5. geckogrrl  |  August 1, 2007 at 10:53 am

    He’s so cute! I love the way his face wrinkles — really clever! He’s awesome…

    Reply
  • 6. phaskins  |  August 1, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    thanks geckogrrl for noticing my dog. I appreciate your comments.

    Reply
  • 7. bruisinraincloud  |  August 6, 2007 at 9:15 am

    love it! Its so pretty!

    Reply
  • 8. phaskins  |  August 6, 2007 at 11:08 am

    thanks bruisinraincloud. you don’t often hear bulldogs referred to as pretty!

    Reply
  • 9. VALERIE  |  September 29, 2007 at 7:22 pm

    i REALLY LIKE THE BULLDOG WOULD YOU PLEASE FORWARD ME THE PATTERN I WOULD LIKKE TO MAKE ONE THANK YOU!

    Reply
  • 10. phaskins  |  September 29, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    Hey Valerie, there is no pattern, I made it up as I went along. Glad you like it.

    Reply
  • 11. Ana  |  June 17, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    Are you selling the pattern? I would love to buy it. We are having our class reunion in August and we were the bulldogs. Love to crochet one to be auctioned off for the scholarship fund. Can you let me know please?

    Reply
  • 12. phaskins  |  June 17, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Sorry Ana, I don’t have a pattern, I made it up as I went along. I could try to draw out the shapes and how I assembled them for you, but I don’t have stitch counts. You would have to experiment. Let me know if you are interested, send me an email: phaskins@swbell.net

    Reply
  • 13. Sarah  |  June 6, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    Aloha Patt! I am a member of the Hawaiian Bulldog Club on Oahu, we dont have many of that breed here so we get together when we can. Im a crocheter and i would love to figure this one out…as a challenge, however, making a pattern. I think they would be good christmas gifts for our Bulldog Christmas Party for the owners…not the dogs. =) Can you tell me if you attached the muzzle separate? I think ill give it a try and post my pic when I finally figure it out. Thank you for the motivation! I love ENGLISH BULLDOGS! =)

    Reply
    • 14. phaskins  |  June 7, 2009 at 10:22 am

      Hi Sarah,
      The muzzle was created separately. I crocheted a basic circle and kept adding stitches so it became a tall sided bowl shape. I sewed it onto the stuffed head shape and then gathered it, will a little stuffing, into the folds. I hope that helps. Good luck with your bulldog creating, can’t wait to see it!
      Thanks for visiting my blog.
      Patti

      Reply
  • 15. Nikki Pacheco  |  October 29, 2010 at 8:34 am

    I would really like the pattern for this bulldog! He is so adorable.

    Reply
    • 16. phaskins  |  November 1, 2010 at 9:30 am

      As I commented above, I have no pattern. I made it up as I went along. Sorry.

      Reply
  • 17. Melanie  |  June 11, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    love this is there any way i could get the pattern or purchase it from you?? i just love it it is so cute!!

    Reply
    • 18. phaskins  |  June 11, 2011 at 2:29 pm

      Hi,
      I don’t have a pattern for this critter, I just made it up as I went along and it was sold long ago to the person who requested it. At my Etsy shop I have a listing for custom orders if you’re interested in having me make you one.
      Thanks.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


