Crochet Cats

July 22, 2007 at 6:12 pm 13 comments

I finally put those parts together and completed the crocheted cats this weekend. Thought you might enjoy seeing them with and without my big mouth cat faces applied. I kind of like the blank look. What do you think?

waiting for faces

faces!

They look like they are singing, a chorus of big mouth kitties. I can just hear them, wailing in the background, “feed me, pet me, adore me”. Oh wait, that’s my six cats telling me to walk away from the computer now and feed them, pet them, and of course, adore them. I shall. I know who my bosses are.

Entry filed under: cat, crafts, crochet, softies.

Cats Rule Flowers

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Deneen  |  July 22, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    Totally terrific!

    Reply
  • 2. appliejuice  |  July 23, 2007 at 6:27 am

    Those are the cutest kittens. You did great job on them and I love the faces. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. phaskins  |  July 24, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    thanks so much Deneen and appliejuice! your kind words make me purrrr…….

    Reply
  • 4. Austin of Sundrip  |  July 27, 2007 at 12:45 pm

    Oh my gosh! They are too cute….just too cute. I like the blank look best but I like the faces too. They are simply adorable.

    I have a friend that makes softies. She didn’t think anyone at all would be interested in such things but I’ve seen on the net where people not only use the word softies but there are communities out there of people who make them. I’m going to have to tell her to get her needle and thread back to moving because there are softies that need to get out in the world.

    Austin

    Reply
  • 5. phaskins  |  July 30, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    Thanks Austin, tell your friend to get moving. Softies rule!

    Reply
  • 6. Mrs. Kwitty  |  August 7, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    Oh! Your cats are great–I can almost hear them singing! Adorable.
    Smiles, Karen

    Reply
  • 7. phaskins  |  August 8, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    thanks Karen, they do look like a chorus. I figure they’re singing “felines, nothing more than felines…” (you know that feelings song?)

    Reply
  • 8. Fran Smith  |  August 9, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    I just love your cats. You see, within three years, we have lost three of our kitty’s( Finnighan-8 Casey-9 And Finnie-4). This has really been tough for my family. I often wondered if I could try and crochet replicas of them that would be fantastic! How did you make them? Do you have a pattern or did you get it out of a book? Please, if you can share it with me, I would be so happy.

    Thanks,
    Fran

    Reply
  • 9. phaskins  |  August 9, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    Thanks for loving my cats Fran. As far as pattern goes, I started with the pattern from this website http://www5a.biglobe.ne.jp/~mite/diagram/index.html and improvised, making mine have longer limbs, rounder body, curvy tails, different faces, different ears, head shaped a little different, etc. email any questions you might have.

    Reply
  • 10. Pam  |  April 5, 2014 at 6:05 pm

    I love these kitties! Want to try to make them– what did you use for the whiskers??

    Reply
  • 11. phaskins  |  April 5, 2014 at 7:10 pm

    The same material I used for the faces, it is black ultrasuede.

    Reply
  • 12. Cathy Caumartin Crocker  |  May 23, 2015 at 11:13 am

    These are amazing! Have you ever written a pattern for them?

    Reply
    • 13. phaskins  |  May 23, 2015 at 3:34 pm

      Thanks. I never have written a pattern. I keep thinking I will one of these days, but hasn’t happened yet.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


