Fabric Collage

June 11, 2007 at 7:52 pm Leave a comment

cat in the hallI finally finished that cat fabric collage Cat In The Hall that I started ages ago. I have too many projects needing attention. And my attention is easily distracted. So over the weekend I was determined to finish at least one of these projects that constantly nag at me.

I really do enjoy drawing with the sewing machine. Its fun to watch the stitches fill in details. I had originally created this drawing using a mouse and Microsoft Paint way back in the 90’s when I was temping throughout Dallas’ downtown business ghetto. Lots of vacant buildings. I’d end up getting an assignment where the usual secretary/administrative assistant was on vacation and they’d need a warm body to fill in. They usually didn’t trust the temp to do anything meaningful, just answer the phone and get the mail. Boring. So I’d draw.

And through the years, computer after computer upgrade, I have been hanging on to the many digital drawings and transferring them to different media: crochet, fabric collage, paper mache. A friend asks why I don’t sell the original drawings as prints. I don’t know. I haven’t really thought about it. Maybe I should start thinking about it.

cat in the hall

It would definitely be less work. But I don’t think it would be as much fun. There is something really satisfying about creating art from scraps of fabric, skeins of yarn, or yesterday’s newspaper. Now that I’ve finished this piece, its time to struggle through the many steps of listing it for sale on Etsy. Maybe someone will like it enough to want to take it home.

Entry filed under: art, cat, crafts, fabric art.

Crochet Paisley #2 ImageKind

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive


