Joni

June 6, 2007 at 12:03 pm Leave a comment

I have been a fan of Joni Mitchell since I was in ninth grade and a bridesmaid in my uncles’s wedding.00-va-a_tribute_to_joni_mitchell-cd-20071.jpg One of the other bridesmaids was obsessed with the newly released “Blue” album and was playing it while we dressed for the big show. I heard Joni for the first time and haven’t stop listening to her since. I think the year was 1971.

I also started buying her piano books, I play, and discovered to my delight that she is an incredible visual artist as well. Her piano books have loads of images not on the albums, images of her art. The complete artist, sonic, poetic and visual.

The new tribute album came out late April and I’ve heard bits and pieces of it. Today I listened to whole thing and I love it. I have my favorite and not so favorite cuts of course, but I really enjoy hearing artists interpret other artist’s work. I guess that comes from my days performing in a band and covering songs in our own way, adding our style and personality to well known songs.

I think my favorite cut on the tribute album is Magdalene Laundries by Emmylou Harris. I love the chilling lyrics mixed with Emmylou’s angelic voice. There’s a version of this song that Joni recorded with the Irish band The Chieftains that I like a lot as well. You can hear a snippet if you click The Magdalene Laundries (with Joni Mitchell). And if you click the image above you’ll be taken to the tribute site where you can listen to the cover and the original recording of all the songs on the album.

Entry filed under: art, music.

Mickey Crochet Paisley #2

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive


