Mickey

June 4, 2007 at 9:35 pm 6 comments

Mickey, Mickey, Mickey…..the goofiest dog I’ve ever known. Where to start?mickey

Mike and I were always cat people until the day we found a stray dog that was so pitiful that Mike lost his mind momentarily and said we should bring her home to the house of seven or eight cats. Pearl’s story will have to wait until later. We enjoyed her company for several years but she was old when we found her and you know how that goes. We were now bi-critter, we swung both ways, dog and cat. Had to get another dog.

maggieSo I found Maggie on Petfinder.com and she was perfect with us and the cats. Another story for later. Not long after we moved to the house we’re in now, I had to go through chemo and radiation for breast cancer and was no long able to walk Maggie and play with her etc. and she seemed depressed so I got the bright idea to get another dog! I guess I had chemo brain. So via Petfinder.com again I found Monty and he was at the same shelter where we got Maggie. Perfect. He was shy and didn’t really seem comfortable being Maggie’s playmate. But I was told to give it time. So we didmonty
On the last day of the summer swimming pool season, the public pool in Mesquite near our house has a dog swim. They let all dogs that want to swim, dive, go down the slide have at it. We were told by the shelter that Monty liked to swim. So we took Maggie and Monty to swim with all the other dogs. Wrong. They had no desire to swim. Mike carried them into the pool, in his clothes, mind you. He was determined that they would swim. And swim they did. They dog paddled right out of that pool!

So I was sitting by the slide with the two wet dogs watching the brave dogs climb the ladder, go down the slide, splash, and run right back up the ladder. A woman carrying a scruffy dog stopped and said that the dog she was carrying looked like one of my dogs. Scruffy terrier types. And I agreed, he did look like my dogs. She said he needed a home, but of course. I said, well, you’ll have to ask that guy over there watching the diving dogs. So she walked right over to Mike and told him that she had his dog. He said, OK. Signed the papers, paid $100 to the city of Mesquite pound and the dog was ours. So there we stood with three dogs. And I said, what will we call him? We have Maggie and Monty so I guess we need an ‘M’ name. Mike would be too confusing, how about Mickey? mickeyAnd the dog smiled. I swear, he smiled. So we figured that we had guessed his name correctly.

And then Mike told me that after he paid the lady and signed all the papers she told him that Mickey was scheduled to be put down the next day. We saved his life.

mickey belly upAnd he’s been thanking us every day since in his goofy ways.

mickey

Entry filed under: critters, dog, Mike.

Pineapple Baby Joni

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donna  |  June 5, 2007 at 4:59 am

    Wonderful story. I think you should save MORE lives!!!! They are all adorable. I have the same problem with ferrets…8 now. Plus 4 cats, but you know, that could change… You are truly blessed.

    Reply
  • 2. Mike  |  June 5, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    Great story. I laughed, I cried! Lady, that’s one goofy looking dog.

    Reply
  • 3. Judy  |  June 5, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    Love your animals and the stories of how you got them!!!

    Reply
  • 4. phaskins  |  June 6, 2007 at 7:58 am

    thanks you guys!

    Reply
  • 5. moose845  |  March 21, 2008 at 8:11 am

    I just found your site and love your stories about your pets. I have three bloodhounds, all rescues, and I work with a bloodhound rescue group. The stories on rescued animals are all so sad and some of them just make you cry. Unfortunately, we can’t save all of them. You learn to be thankful for those you can save and to say a prayer for those you must leave behind. Enjoy your guys. They deserve the best we can give them after what some of us have put them through.

    Reply
  • 6. Annette  |  May 2, 2008 at 11:21 am

    Hi Patti,
    wonderful stories of your animals! I posted on etsy so got your link from there.
    Check out my page for some very interesting info on cancer and follow the link to the UK site with even more very interesting info. If you are sceptical about governments and profiteering drug companies then all the better.
    By the way I have human proof as well that they work.
    kind regards,
    Annette
    http://www.dragonhouseofyuen.co.uk/petportraits.htm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


