Flickr Find

May 7, 2007 at 8:07 pm 4 comments

I spend way too much time admiring the images posted to Flickr. Such cool, cool art and photography resides there as well as cute, cute, critters.

dog bowl

I really love this artist’s work. Her name is Gitte Spee. I think she lives in Amsterdam. She commented on the pictures of my crocheted dogs on Flickr. I searched her name and found out that she is a children’s book illustrator with many published works along with her great hand painted ceramic works. Now if I could find someone who could translate what I’m guessing is Dutch I would know more details. If you’re a dog lover, I think you’ll enjoy her work as much as I do. More pics on next page.

ceramic dog

 

 

dog bowls
I found a couple of websites with pictures of her books here and here. And if anyone translates any of this stuff, please let me know.

Enjoy!

Entry filed under: art, crafts, dog.

Juggler Baby Pineapple

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gitte spee  |  September 27, 2007 at 11:33 am

    Dear Patti,

    By accident iI came to this page and was pleasantly surprised that you are so interested in my work. I work in Amsterdam but live in a village near Amsterdam. I have studied at the Gerrit Rietveld Academy of fine arts in Amsterdam and graduated in 1983. Since then I have been working, first as an illustrator but gradually I started to write my own books. Now i mostly write my own books, but sometimes I illustrate other authors books in other countries.
    One of my books has also been published in the USA. The title is Sad, sad William. But that was in 1996 or 1994, so a long time ago. A few years ago I started first to make ceramics and now I only paint ceramics. It has become quite a passion.
    Some of my books have been translated into French, German, Swedish, Japanese, Hongarian and Korean. I also work for publishers in different countries.
    If there is anything you would like to know, please let me know.
    Thank you for your interest, kind regards, Gitte Spee

    Reply
  • 2. phaskins  |  September 29, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    Gitte, is your ceramic work available in the USA?

    Reply
  • 3. gitte spee  |  October 11, 2007 at 10:26 am

    Patti, my ceramic is all here in my house. Next month I have an exhibition in Amsterdam, my work will be for sale there. I could send something to the USA, but I would have to ask advise about packing. And it will be quite expensive to send it I think.

    Reply
  • 4. phaskins  |  October 15, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    good luck on your exhibition gitte! maybe someday I will visit Amsterdam and see your work in person. thanks for replying.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


