Juggler

May 1, 2007 at 8:26 pm Leave a comment

I must have been a juggler in a past life. I can’t seem to start one project and finish it before I start another. And another. Oh and just one more. Then another. You get the point. I don’t even want to think about how many works in progress I have right now. So over the past weekend, I decided to create this little pillow sculture thing I was thinking of on Friday while I was at work editing ortho slides for a PowerPoint presentation. I was looking at intra oral pictures of kids through the years of orthodontic treatment while thinking of what I wanted to make over the weekend. See, I can’t even do my job without juggling in my big mouth cat pillowmind.

Many years ago, one of the numerous items I created were desktop picture pillows. I would transfer color copied photographs to fabric and then applique the pic onto fabric and construct pillows stuffed with fiberfill and aquarium pebbles on the bottom. The pebbled bottom allowed the pillow to stand vertically, sort of like a padded picture. I sold a bunch of those back in the day at outdoor art shows etc. Pre-Etsy days. (more on next page)

So that’s what I decided to revisit over the weekend. Only instead of transferring photo to fabric, I decided to feature my big mouth cat as an applique. I made two and really like them. They are sitting on my desk right now. They make wonderful little desktop sculptures. big mouth cat pillow But since they are soft and stuffed, they could even function as pin cushions. Or a note holder, you could pin a note to the pillow. What do you think?

 

 

big mouth cat pillow
 

Entry filed under: art, cat, crafts, fabric art.

Papier Mache Flickr Find

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


