Hi, My Name Is Sammy

April 25, 2007 at 8:00 pm 5 comments

sammy striped crochet dog softie

Well, I finally finished my striped crochet dog softie and decided to go with the black tail. I made a black-tipped stripe tail, but the way the black contrasted with all the bright colors and matched the ears and paws convinced me that black was the way to go. I also made him a nice blue collar and onto it I fastened one of my papier mache baubles instead of a dog tag. I’m going to put him up for adoption at my etsy shop over the weekend.sammy striped crochet dog softie

I used old pantyhose and fiberfill to stuff him. And when I say old pantyhose, well I can’t remember when the last time I wore them at all! I did remember that my grandmother used to crochet us cats and stuff them with old pantyhose. I’m the oldest of four girls so you know we save a lot of our old pantyhose for her and she returned the hose inside wonderful, cuddly crocheted cats. I don’t have the cat she made me anymore, neither do two of my sisters. One sister still has hers. I live in Texas. My three sisters all live in Ohio. I asked the sister who still has her cat if I could borrow it to study and try to recreate. She asked if I would return it. I said maybe. She said no. And so that’s how my crocheted critter creations began and I swear it looks like I’m addicted.

So I’ll end here and go to my studio to work on the non-crocheted big mouth cat pins I’m working on. And I must start the papier mache dogs that I have been commissioned to make. Busy, busy. (more pictures on next page)

sammy striped crochet dog softie

sammy striped crochet dog softie

sammy striped crochet dog softie jewel closeup

Entry filed under: crafts, crochet, dog, softies.

Nature Papier Mache

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Show Me Your Ami... « All In A Day’s….  |  May 2, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    […] Patti Haskins has a couple of super fun and colorful crochet cats.  One of her colorful creations was posted recently on the Softies Central website. […]

    Reply
  • 2. Nonoa  |  June 5, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    CUTE! Is there a pattern?

    Reply
  • 3. phaskins  |  June 5, 2007 at 3:29 pm

    Thanks Nonoa. I’m afraid there’s really no pattern, I make it up as I go along and I’ve never written a pattern, but you’re not the first to ask. Maybe someday I’ll figure out how to write a pattern. : )

    Reply
  • 4. Spencer  |  January 3, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    great work. Hope you don’t mind me asking is this dog for sale? Spencer

    Reply
    • 5. phaskins  |  January 3, 2010 at 4:50 pm

      Hi Spencer,
      Thanks for your nice comment, I don’t mind you asking if it is for sale. He WAS for sale, he has been sold for some time now. I have other critters for sale, you can find them here: http://www.etsy.com/shop/pattihaskins
      If you want one that looks like Sammy, you can order a custom critter and instead of me matching the pictures of a live critter, I will match my pictures of Sammy and make a critter that looks like him.
      Thanks,
      Patti

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive


