Striped Crochet

April 9, 2007 at 11:55 am Leave a comment

Well I started crocheting a striped dog this morning. I really like the way Limey looks and decided to make even more stripes this time. I began the striping over the weekend. I picked striped dog head to bemore bright colors from Lily Sugar n Cream Cotton. I had a lot of this yarn in my studio already. I’m trying to be fiscally responsible and not buy more yarn until I at least put a dent in my stash. I still intend to check out some other brands.

Changing colors frequently keeps me on my toes and prevents me from falling into sleepwalking while crocheting and not paying attention to what I’m doing. I tend to increase when I shouldn’t and increase the wrong amount of stitches. And the bright colors, well, that in itself helps me concentrate. No soft pale pastel colors and repetitive stiching to lull me to zzzzzzz.

So now I’ll start improvising as I shape the head, deciding how many rows without increases to striped dog head to be interiormake to form the length of the head, and/or make more increases per row to form a larger head.

But you know, I could just keep increasing and turn it into a bowl. I’ve seen some crocheted bowls on Flickr, there’s some nice ones here by Aine D. So that’s a possibility, but I am leaning towards going forward with canine creation. The only dog I’ve crocheted lives with my friend Wendy and she never brings him over to visit.

Entry filed under: cat, crafts, crochet, dog, softies.

For Sale Cat In The Hall

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive


