Limey

April 6, 2007 at 11:58 am 3 comments

big mouth cat limey closerI finally finished the cat I was working on and named him Limey ’cause I liked the lime green stripes I gave him. I follow Nekoyama‘s pattern initially and then start improvising. I decided that instead of the sleek physique like my cat Pinkie, I wanted this guy to be a little chubbier, more huggable.big mouth cat limey

Not that I don’t have enough living cats to hug around here. There are six living, breathing cats who get very perturbed that I pay more attention to these yarn cats than to them and they are very vocal about it. Nothing like six cats meowing to get your attention. Well maybe three dogs barking, that always makes me come running. I live in a zoo and then I go and make more animals. Am I nuts?? Don’t bother answering, I know I am.big mouth cat limey lounging

Back to crochet. All the items I’ve crocheted lately have been cotton. I love Lily Sugar n Cream cotton yarn but I’m thinking of exploring some other brands. Any suggestions out there? So as far as Limey goes, I like the striped look and am going to make a striped dog next. Maybe more stripes this time. Maybe several different color stripes. I think that’s a good plan for this weekend’s new project to start. That makes number twelve or thirteen works in progress. Good thing I like to multi-task!

big mouth cat limey backside

Entry filed under: cat, crafts, crochet, softies.

Anole For Sale

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geckogrrl  |  April 6, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    Limey’s so cute! I love his colors and chubby body! (and his yawning mouth is just great!)

    For big amigurumi I love kitchen cotton, but recently I did a few small ones with TLC Cotton Plus (cotton with acrylic). It works up really nicely and the acrylic gives a really nice sheen.

    Katie

    ps– the Anole in the previous post is really awesome too!

    Reply
  • 2. phaskins  |  April 6, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    Thanks for the suggestions and compliments.

    Reply
  • 3. janey  |  April 18, 2007 at 3:39 am

    Gosh I’m in love with your cats. And Limey is on Softie Central too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive


