Grannies

March 21, 2007 at 8:31 am Leave a comment

granniesWell, although I have four different projects going at the same time, I decided to throw in one more endeavor and try to make some of the squares from the Jan Eaton book.  I’ve been reading the granny-along and have thought of joining in, but since I love to juggle many projects I don’t think I can stick to one thing and participate. But, I had never tried making a granny square and it looked very intriguing.

So I gathered some of my yarn stash and developed a color theme using Lily Sugar n Cream hot orange, hot pink, and a variegated with both colors and yellow. And just as I was developing a rhythm, I of course ran out of yarn. I really didn’t want to start using different colors, I had become quite fond of the pinks and oranges. So on-line I hopped and ordered more and more yarn. I really like the Lily cotton, I have tried to use acrylic and don’t really enjoy the feel, it almost “scratches” my hands. And I adore the colors of the Lily cotton. I have viewed all the amazing colors of wools on-line in other people’s projects and on the yarn websites, but in Dallas, wool is not quite the user friendly fiber, whereas cotton breathes and doesn’t promote overheating as wool will here.

But back to the squares, I had only completed these five when I ran out of the hot pink and granniesnearly ran out of the hot orange. So I started another project, a cornflower blue and lime green striped cat. I haven’t shot any pics yet, maybe this weekend. And as you can see, I haven’t blocked my squares yet. I just read Alicia’s post regarding blocking, so I guess tonight after work I’ll be blocking these babies. Maybe my yarn shipment will be there waiting for me!

Entry filed under: crafts, crochet.

Almost Spring Herons

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


