Fish

March 12, 2007 at 7:16 pm 1 comment

I created a fabric fish wall hanging for my boss’s Christmas present and I thought I’d post it just to show that I don’t only create cats. There are other critters that roam across my brain. It just happens that we live with six cats and three dogs, so proportionately, cats get created the most. And they are so sculptural. Even when licking their butt. So elegantly they pose, leg in the air, tongue on….you get the picture. Perhaps that will be the next fabric wall hanging I create!

These fabric wall hangings are made with mostly vintage fabric and embellishments. All the beads and sequins came from that milenary supply going out of business sale. And of course, machine embroidery. I really like drawing with black thread in the sewing machine. To me, these wall hangings resemble coloring books. I cut out simple shapes of fabric and let the black/navy/whatever thread represent pen or pencil lines.

fiber fish by patti haskins

(I made the mistake of starting to crochet squares from that Jan Eaton book and I feel the addiction taking hold. I have three completed squares that need blocked before shooting a pic. And hundreds more to release from my dreams. But that darn day job gets in the way every time.)

Entry filed under: art.

I Love Funky Fifties Package Art Almost Spring

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Donna  |  March 14, 2007 at 7:51 am

    Patti, what kind of sewing machine do you use? Do you have a preference? Several ladies in our ferret sewing group use Husqvarnas and swear by them. My sewing machine is very simple and about 20 years old, however, I am ready for a new one so I can try doing creative things as well. I have a chance to buy a used Husqvarna Viking Platinum 730, only a few months old because my friend upgraded recently. Any suggestions? donna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


