Sparkles

February 21, 2007 at 4:31 pm 2 comments

A few years ago, a millinary supply store in downtown Dallas went out of business asparkle cat wall art close upnd had a great sale. They gave you big, plastic garbage bags and you could fill it up with all you wished to purchase for one low price, $30-$40 is what I remember. And I sparkle cat wall artdid. I got all kinds of silk flowers, beads and more beads. And sequins. The beads and sequins were all very old, fifties era I believe. I’ve been incorporating them into my projects lately. This wall art piece is a prime example, fabric, beads, and sequins mixed with machine embroidery and my drawing come together to present Sparkles. I’ll have to scan some of the bead packages, they are truly classic.

Entry filed under: art, cat, fabric art.

Mike and Rose Adobe Illustrator

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. arlee  |  February 28, 2007 at 5:18 pm

    Nicely translated into textiles! Reminds me of my Mo–if he’s been dunked in pink dye :}

    Reply
  • 2. phaskins  |  March 3, 2007 at 9:50 am

    Thanks arlee. I always like to depict my cats the colors they would be if they could.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg

http://pattihaskins.com

I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time.
Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

Save

Save

past posts archive


