Dragonflies

July 31, 2009 at 2:00 pm 17 comments

I love living by a creek. The dragonflies are plenty and pretty. Shimmery wings and enormous eyes are quite the spectacle in flight. Occasionally I can get one to pose for me, but its been a while.

drgnfly

I thought I would crochet a dragonfly just for fun and went looking for patterns on the wide world web of crochet patterns. I found a delightful specimen, but haven’t made one of my own yet.

dragonfly crochet

The site where I found the pattern, MYpicot, has lots of interesting and wonderful patterns and tutorials. Rather than keep it to myself until I crocheted my dragonfly, I’m sharing it with you now. If you crochet a dragonfly from this pattern, please share it with me, I’d love to see it. Enjoy.

UPDATE: For those of you looking for the pattern through the main site, try clicking on the above photo of the crocheted dragonfly, that should take you directly to the pattern. Or click here.

MORE INFO: This link here will take you to the MyPicot site’s guide to their patterns, it will help you to crochet the dragonfly following their diagram.

Entry filed under: crochet, dragonfly. Tags: .

Portraits in Yarn More Mexican Folk Art

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diana Graff aka PooToo  |  August 1, 2009 at 10:15 am

    i forgot tocomment! I wanted to say thankyou! I have had my eye on a similar pattern for sale on esty! and this one is even better, thank you very much, I will make sure I share my dragon fly link once I finish it ;)

    Reply
  • 2. Kira  |  April 14, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    I am unable to get that pattern on that website. I guess it isn’t there anymore. Can you email me the pattern? My email is Kirajsanchez@live.com

    Thank you and Happy Crocheting!!
    Kira

    Reply
  • 3. Janet Hall-Frith  |  April 26, 2010 at 2:17 am

    I also looked on the site for that pattern and I’m also of the opinion that it is no longer on the site. Is it possible to get the pattern emailed to me also please? Cheers, Janet.

    Reply
  • 4. doreen  |  October 1, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    This is so great I have been looking for a dragon fly pattern to crochet, I live in a small town and have lived here for a long time, my mother was in a nursing here and passed away in June. I have never seen a dragon fly near my home until she passed. Since then I have several of them around the house always flying around one even followed me out of the driveway on my way to work. My mom knew I liked dragon flies and I truly believe that she has sent them to me, even my 8 year old grand-daughter said “Grandma where did all these dragon flies come from” I told her it is her great-grandmother letting us know she is watcing us. Thanks so much for the pattern I intend to make plenty of them. Thanks again

    Reply
  • 5. doreen  |  October 1, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    cant find it either just looked,please let me know where I can find it thanks soooooo much

    Reply
  • 6. Seren  |  January 20, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    ooooohhh awesome!

    Reply
  • 7. Johanne Levy  |  June 18, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    I too tried to find this beautiful dragonfly motif but was unable to. I have bought a dress with dragonflies on and am making an evening bag to match, and would love to add the dragonfly. If there is any way you could send this to me I would be so grateful.

    Reply
  • 8. Ruth  |  July 8, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    I’m looking for a pattern for a dragonfly that I can put on a baby blanket.Anyone have one?

    Reply
  • 9. Margie  |  November 14, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    I would also love to get a copy of this pattern (as it seems to no longer be available on MyPicot). Do you have a copy you can send?

    Reply
    • 10. phaskins  |  November 14, 2011 at 8:36 pm

      Looks like they may have moved the patter, here’s the web address: http://www.mypicot.com/patterns/7005.pdf but I’ve also attached the PDF pattern for you. Thanks for visiting my blog, Patti

      Reply
      • 11. Linda  |  February 29, 2012 at 5:31 pm

        Every time I try to download this pattern it says file damaged. I would love to crochet this dragonfly. Can anyone think of another way I can get the pattern? any other advice regarding this file damage message would also be great. Thanks! Linda

  • 12. Margie  |  November 15, 2011 at 11:25 am

    Thanks so much! My mom is straight-out obsessed with dragonflies, and clearly has too much time on her hands. She’ll love crocheting this pattern.

    Reply
  • 13. DeBee  |  January 30, 2012 at 8:45 am

    Thank you for linking this pattern. I absolutely love dragonflies (and butterflies). I’m a fairly novice crocheter, so will have to ask someone what stitches I need to use…

    Reply
  • 14. DeBee  |  January 30, 2012 at 8:52 am

    LOL – I went back to have a look at the website and found the stitch legend. I’m good now :)

    Reply
  • 15. Maria Vieira  |  August 21, 2012 at 3:15 am

    LOVE this pattern, thanx so much … one question, any idea how big the dragonfly is? I wanted to make a drangonfly pin

    Reply
    • 16. phaskins  |  August 21, 2012 at 7:09 am

      Hi, I have no idea how big the dragonfly is. I have not found the time yet to try to make one. I guess it would depend on the size yarn and hook you use. That’s just my guess.

      Thanks for visiting my blog. Patti Haskins

      ________________________________

      Reply
  • 17. charon  |  February 22, 2013 at 9:54 pm

    why doesn’t it give a written pattern.. how do we read that diagram?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


me

me-icon.jpg I crochet, sew, draw, paint, paper mache, embroider, shoot photos, play piano, sing and have a graphic artist full time job. But not all at the same time. Headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Drop me a line.

website

past posts archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,527 other followers

